The William J. Perry Award for Excellence in Security and Defense Education

Every year, the Perry Center recognizes individuals who and organizations that have made significant and sustained contributions advancing mutually supportive approaches to security, fostering transparent and capable defense and security governance institutions, and strengthening institutional capacity in the Americas.

Awardees may be either individuals who or organizations that, through education, research, outreach, and/or scholastic leadership, have contributed to the knowledge base of defense and security practitioners, advanced a cooperative international security environment, and/or promoted sustainable institutional capacity in the Americas. Awardees will have made sustained contributions in their fields in a manner consistent with the Perry Center’s mission.

Individual Category
  • 2018 – General Salvador Cienfuegos Zepeda
  • 2017 – Dr. Marcos Pablo Moloeznick Gruer
  • 2016 – Ambassador Luigi Einaudi
  • 2015 – Admiral Francisco Soberón Sanz and Prof. Ivelaw Griffith
  • 2014 – Dr. Richard Millett
  • 2013 – Dr. María Liz García de Arnold
  • 2012 – President Felipe Calderón
  • 2011 – Mr. Nelson Jobim
  • 2010 – Dr. José Bayardi and General (ret.) John Galvin
  • 2009 – No Award Presented
  • 2008 – President Álvaro Uribe Vélez
Institutional Category Other Awards
  • 2017 – Mr. John Cope (Legacy Award)

Send nominations to the Perry Center Selection Committee via award coordinator Michael Mann (see address below). Please include the name of the individual or organization nominated and the nominator, contact information for both, a justification for the nomination, and supportive material(s). Nominations may be made in either English or Spanish. The total package should not exceed 3,000 words.

Submit all nominations by July 19, 2017, to Mr. Michael Mann. Electronic submissions should be sent to, and paper submissions to: Perry Center Award Committee, ATTN: Michael Mann, Abraham Lincoln Hall, 260 5th Ave., Washington, DC 20319-5066